Skip to main content
THE NEW RAL TREND REPORT

COLOUR FEELING 2020+

reBirth of Culture

RAL Colour Feeling sees itself as an impetus in the field of colour in the fields of application design and architecture.

Together with the IIT Institute International Trendscouting at the HAWK Hildesheim, RAL developed several colour worlds, one of which was worked out as an example and specifies the theme of this issue. RAL Colour Feeling 2020+ shows the colour world reBirth of Culture.

The complete PDF of the current issue can be downloaded here.

„A trend towards familiar colours and shapes is being created from the development of digital technology.“
The simplicity and reduction of pure shapes and smooth surfaces that seem to be almost perfect are combined with impulses from different, co-existing ethnologies. This creates an authentic mix from well-known examples in all cultures and epochs until the 1960s, which recounts a familiar, truthful story to us in a new way.

 

Similar to the era of the Renaissance in the 15th/16th century, an upheaval is now taking place, in which individual, cultural values are being revived. There is a glance back at a typical idealised world, taking its inspiration from the areas of handicraft, tradition and nature. These impulses are converted in an almost perfect and idealised form into a gentle, pure visual appearance with an apparently flawless effect.

In an unordered world, which seems to increasingly move away from familiar patterns, an ordered glance back at the past has a beneficial, calming effect. The world of the reBirth of Culture has a correspondingly sensual, familiar emphasis. New aesthetics combine the familiar language of the past with an advanced vision of the future.

 

These developments are announced through the digital impression of shapes and surfaces. The feel is accessible, homogeneous and matt. The digital age develops from something abstract into human and optimistic aesthetics with its own, soft language of shape, which is expressed in an almost artificial perfection of the surface. Inspired by the past, future technologies merge with well-known design languages and human reality. Design expands its pursuit of being true to materials and remains simply and calmingly soft to the touch, emphasised by colour.

METHOD
The method of the IIT is based on a comprehensive scouting process. The building blocks have grown in a demand-oriented manner in over 10 years and have been continuously optimized. Due to the semi - annual scouting in large trend panels based on approximately 20000 images each, the IIT has a large database and corresponding experience in the Evaluation of phenomena, trends and styles in terms of colour and surface.

 

The system provides a repeatability and traceability. The results of the 2019 process can be found summarized in the current publication. Further method steps will be added here over time.

 

TOOLS
The translation of the main colours in CMYK, RGB and HEX can be found here.

A colour library file .ASE can be found here.

A list of RAL main and secondary colours can be found here.

Skip to main content
DER NEUE RAL TRENDBERICHT

COLOUR FEELING 2020+

reBirth of Culture

RAL Colour Feeling versteht sich als Impulsgeber im Bereich Farbe in den Anwendungsgebieten Design und Architektur.

Zusammen mit dem IIT Institute International Trendscouting an der HAWK Hildesheim, erarbeitete RAL mehrere Farbwelten, von denen eine exemplarisch ausgearbeitet wurde und das Thema dieser Ausgabe vorgibt. RAL Colour Feeling 2020+ zeigt die Farbwelt reBirth of Culture.

Das vollständige PDF der aktuellen Ausgabe gibt es hier zum herunterladen.

„Aus der Entwicklung des Digitalen formt sich ein Trend hin zu vertrauten Farben und Formen.“
Die Einfachheit und Reduktion purer Formen und sanfter, fast perfekt erscheinender Oberflächen verbindet sich mit Impulsen aus unterschiedlichen, nebeneinander existierenden Ethnologien. Hierbei entsteht ein authentischer Mix aus bekannten Vorbildern aller Kulturen und Epochen bis in die 60er Jahre, der uns eine vertraute, ehrliche Geschichte neu erzählt.

Ähnlich der Epoche der Renaissance im 15/16. Jh. entsteht nun ein Umbruch, bei dem individuelle, kulturelle Werte wiederbelebt werden. Der Blick geht zurück auf eine idealtypische Welt und bedient sich an Inspirationen aus den Bereichen Handwerk, Tradition und Natur. Diese Impulse werden in fast perfekter und idealistischer Form in eine sanfte, reine Optik mit scheinbar makelloser Wirkung umgesetzt.

In einer ungeordneten Welt, die bekannte Schemata mehr und mehr zu verlassen scheint, wirkt ein geordneter Blick zurück heilbringend und beruhigend. Die Welt des reBirth of Culture ist entsprechend sinnlich betont und vertraut. Neue Ästhetiken verbinden dabei die bekannte Sprache der Vergangenheit mit einer fortschrittlichen Zukunftsvision.

Diese Entwicklungen kündigen sich durch die digitale Anmutung von Formen und Oberflächen an. Die Haptik ist nahbar, homogen und matt. Digitalität entwickelt sich von etwas Abstraktem hin zu einer menschlichen und optimistischen Ästhetik mit eigener, weicher Formensprache, die in der Oberfläche eine fast künstliche Perfektion aufweist. Inspiriert von der Vergangenheit verschmelzen zukünftige Technologien mit bekannten Designsprachen und menschlicher Realität. Das Design verliert sein Streben nach Materialgerechtheit und verbleibt in einfacher, beruhigender, hautschmeichelnder Haptik.

METHODE
Die Methode des IIT basiert auf einem umfassenden Scoutingprozess. Dessen Bausteine sind in über 10 Jahren bedarfsorientiert gewachsen und wurden fortlaufend optimiert. Durch die halbjährliche Durchführung der Scoutings in großen Trendpanels auf Basis von jeweils etwa 20.000 Bildern, hat das IIT einen großen Datenbestand und entsprechende Erfahrung in der Bewertung von Phänomenen, Strömungen und Stilen im Hinblick auf Farbe und Oberfläche.

Durch die Systematik ist eine Wiederholbarkeit und Nachvollziehbarkeit gegeben. Die Ergebnisse des Prozesses 2019 finden Sie in der aktuellen Publikation zusammengefasst. Weitere Methodenschritte werden hier im Laufe der Zeit ergänzt.

TOOLS
Die Übersetzung der Hauptfarben in CMYK, RGB und HEX finden Sie hier.

Eine Farbbibliotheksdatei .ASE finden sie hier.

Eine Auflistung der RAL Haupt- und Nebenfarben finden Sie hier.